Groupby turtorial

Jul 22, 2013 at 7:33 PM
Hi,

I'm very confused about how to make something like this work using groupby. Let's say I have this pretty simple array of objects.
  var people = [
{ name: "Peter", age: 33, job: "Tech", salary:35000 },
{ name: "Bill", age: 42, job: "Tech", salary: 40000 },
{ name: "Jane", age: 35, job: "Nurse", salary: 65000 },
{ name: "Sally", age: 27, job: "Nurse", salary: 60000 },
{ name: "Ted", age: 31, job: "Janitor", salary: 30000 }
 ];
What I need to do is group each person by "job". Once they are grouped I need to total the salary for each job type. So for example people with job of "Tech" should show a combined total of 75000. "Nurses" should show a combined total of 125000 and "Janitors" should show a total of 30000.

A new object should be projected out with Just the Job name and the combined total for the job. Thanks in advance.
Jul 28, 2013 at 5:33 AM
Edited Jul 28, 2013 at 5:40 AM
This is my first attempt at using this library, and it appears the author(s) has done a good job of keeping with the LINQ structure. You should be able to adapt the examples in the LINQ documentation to a Javascript syntax.

For example, I worked with one of the GroupBy documentation pages and came up with this:
var grouped = Enumerable.From(people)
                        .GroupBy(function (person) { return person.job },     // Key selector
                                 function (person) {                          // Element selector
                                     return {
                                         Job: person.job,
                                         Salary: person.salary
                                     }
                                 },
                                 function (job, grouping) {                   // Result selector
                                     return {
                                         Job: job,